My Placement at Europanel: My journey so far…

In this post MMU Ba (Hons) Business Management student Tegan Dixon explains her experience of securing and settling in to her placement year with Europanel, based in London.

Europanel measures consumer behaviour for leading clients within the FMCG sector, and is currently recruiting Tegan’s replacement! The link for MMU students can be found at the end of the post, but hurry, the position closes soon!

Hello everyone!

I’m Tegan, a BA(Hons) Business Management undergraduate and I am currently on my placement year at Europanel.

Tegan Dixon

I wanted to write to you all for a number of reasons… The first is to help those considering sunny London for their placement year, who may be a little unsure on a few things.

The second is that the recruitment process for my role has recently started again, with the deadline for applications being the 26th March, and I would love for another MMU student to have their shot at it.

Hopefully I’ll be able to successfully sell it! And finally, I want to talk to you about my experience applying for placements to hopefully inspire some of you all that it’s not too late at all!

I secured my placement role in the middle of June 2015 (late – I know), and was expected to start on the 6th July. As I’m sure you can appreciate, I had a lot to turn around in a very short space of time, including the move to London, not helped by the fact I was based at home on the Isle of Man!

I knew very little about London before moving here, other than it was big, busy, and full of adventure. Now that much is true, but I’ve also seen other sides to it living here that I would want everyone to at least experience once, so watch out for my blog post on ‘London Life’, coming soon!

My placement at Europanel: How I got here and what it’s been like since

As I mentioned at the beginning of this post, I secured my placement pretty late. So for those still looking, don’t be discouraged! There are placements out there still waiting to be filled, my replacement included!

For my role the process first involved sending your CV and cover letter. For me, this process was followed by a numerical reasoning test, a telephone interview, and then a face-to-face interview which included a presentation I put together from a question they posed and data they provided. The process is changing slightly this year, as they are holding a placement day on the 7th April, which may be more similar to an assessment centre. I will be present for a few hours during this day to answer questions, so if you make it there, please say hello!

Now… the role itself.

My title is International Client Service Assistant and I work on the team which services Procter and Gamble. The company works with consumer data, gathered through household panels across the globe, to help our clients with their global consumer questions by being able to analyse the data, and present findings and recommendations. My role is predominantly on the beauty categories, as these are the relationships my manager is in charge of, though I work across all the categories managing the reporting. Whilst on my placement I have had the opportunity to travel to Geneva to present to a Max Factor client at P&G, which was fantastic.

I’ve also worked on a number of cross-country projects for brands including Gillette, Pantene, Head & Shoulders and Aussie, and smaller requests across P&Gs brand portfolio. The role have given me a true insight into how people purchase FMCG across the world, as well as helping me develop a huge number of transferrable skills, both personal and technical.

One other point I would like to shed some light on is the office atmosphere itself, and the people I work with. The atmosphere of the Europanel office has made a huge difference to how I have enjoyed my placement, with it contributing hugely to this. Europanel is a wonderfully diverse company, made up of people from all corners of the globe.

The social community is thriving, and I’ve truly made some great friends whilst here. It is the icing on the cake of what is already a role that inspires me to be creative and insightful. I believe that you get out of the placement scheme what you put in to it; I work alongside my line manager to put a lot of time in to my personal development, something which I would urge others to strive for.

Good luck in your placement search – and please consider this role and/or London for an amazing sandwich year!

If you are a current, second year MMU Business School student who wants to learn more about this amazing placement opportunity with Europanel, follow this link for full details, and to apply!

Leave a Reply

