Why not go abroad for your placement year?

Geographically mobile? Why not go abroad for your placement year? In our latest blog we hear from Hannah Moore, BA (Hons) Advertising Management and Brand Management, who is currently on placement in Bahrain.  Read about her experiences so far and why she’d recommend broadening your horizons and going overseas.Placement Student Hannah Moore

During my second year of University I wanted to do the one-day a week work experience instead of Agency Life, however I mixed up the final sign up date due to being out of the country and could not gain the experience. I really believe that if you want to get the job of your dreams then you need experience, so luckily the university offers the opportunity to take a work placement year in the third year, which I knew I had to do.

After meeting with the Placement Team and emailing multiple companies I only heard back from one company, after a chat with the company’s Head of Marketing, he said I would have been a great attribute to the company, however they weren’t in a position to teach someone who they weren’t able to keep on in their team (as I would have to return for my final year at Uni) due to funding and plans for expanding the company. A little disheartened and motivation depleting, I realised England just didn’t have the opportunities that I wanted; so I decided to expand my search abroad.

This is when I took a shot in the dark and began applying to jobs near where I have family overseas; and luckily I managed to get an offer from a magazine publishing and marketing company in Bahrain (a tiny, sandy island connected to Saudi Arabia). I was nervous about moving over to the Middle East and being away for nine months, but I am having the most exciting and influential time I could have asked for. In the company I am participating in various roles, from marketing and events management to editorial and design. Since September I have:

  • Hannah Moore work exampleWritten multiple beauty articles, advertorials for clients and their products, double page spread stories including interviews and reviewed games, gadgets, films, apps and more
  • Publicised events happening around the country (this involved ringing companies and meeting various people)
  • Created adverts and campaigns for clients (E.g. Nespresso)
  • Hannah Moore work exampleUsed social media professionally and produced adverts for the company that drive traffic to our social media
  • Created logos for the company as they decided to rebrand
  • Attended events such as shop grand openings, charity events and press-only events alongside Bahrain celebrities

In October we held a fashion show featuring Lincoln Motor Company as they unveiled their new car. The fashion show consisted of clothes and accessory brands such as la Vie en Rose, Monsoon, ALDO Accessories, Kenneth Cole, Center point and lots more. I played multiple roles in the production and organisation of the event.

I am currently organizing a carnival/ circus for the company, which is giving me some fantastic events management experience; creating Gantt Charts and ringing circus performers overseas to try and put on an outstanding evening show for the day event.

I have gained so much amazing experience and met so many amazing people that I would totally recommend going abroad for your placement year! The sun and lack of rain helps too, it has rained twice since September and in a couple of weeks it will be hitting 30 degrees. The hundreds of US Navy men help too!

Leave a Reply

