What is it really like working in Internal Communications at Vauxhall?

Chloe Duncan, BA (Hons) Public Relations and Digital Communications, has been working at Vauxhall for the last 4 months read about her experience so far and get an insight into her role in her blog.

I am studying (BA Hons) Public Relations and Digital Communications Management at Manchester Metropolitan University but I am currently on placement at Vauxhall Motors in Ellesmere Port.

My job title at Vauxhall is the Internal Communications Assistant so a lot of the work I do every day is very beneficial and relative to my university course.

When I was in the position of applying for placements I was really focused on making my application and CV the best they could be. I only applied to companies I truly would have liked to work at for a year and applied for roles that would benefit me for my final year of study at university.

I have worked at Vauxhall for 4 months and I can’t believe the amount of knowledge and skills I have gained already. I have been making notes every week of what work/events I get involved with and so far I have tonnes of interesting experiences that I can add to my CV. A few examples would be:

  • Writing press releases about special events we have held at plant
  • Supported the day of media coverage on plant which was televised on ITV Granada and BBC
  • Worked on site for two days at the film shoot for our YouTube video

The best aspect of my placement at Vauxhall is how amazing the company is, not only to their undergraduates but every single employee they have. They work alongside ‘Unite the Union’ to make sure their employees are happy every day within their workplace. Furthermore, I love that my job is a ‘real’ job and I have my own responsibilities. This provides me with amazing experience that I will appreciate greatly in my future career path.

It has been inspiring and has made me even more determined to achieve a 1st in my degree in final year. I am really looking forward to the next 8 months of my placement and no doubt I will have tripled the amount of skills and experience that I can add to my CV.

I would highly recommend a placement year to everyone! It has given me real insight of the workplace and has provided me with early experience of the career I would like to pursue in the future.

Good luck to everyone applying – it will be the best choice you ever make!

If you are interested in applying to Vauxhall you can find details of all the placement positions currently available on our vacancy system.  The closing date for applications to Vauxhall Motors is 31st December 2014. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

