My Placement Year at DriveWorks

In our latest student blog we hear from Jessica Taylor, BA (Hons) Advertising Management and Brand Management.  Jessica tells us how she secured her placement and what she’s gaining from a year in industry.

Placement student Jessica TaylorHi, I’m Jess, a third year student studying Advertising Management and Brand Management.

Last year, doing Agency Life made me realise that even just a small amount of experience is so important to have on your CV. It gave me real world experience, something that was great to talk about when applying for placements.

A full placement year is that experience on a larger scale. Working 5 days a week in a real life company doing a real life job is invaluable.

I’m now on placement at DriveWorks as Social Media & Marketing Assistant. I have been here for 4 months and already I feel like a real employee. I have been given so much responsibility and some really exciting projects to work on – I’ve even got my own business card, fancy!

I’m one of 4 placement students, the others are from engineering and computing backgrounds. We’ve all been given individual roles and genuine tasks that really make you feel like you’re contributing to the company, rather than being a burden.

My placement has replaced my fear of the real world and having a ‘proper job’ with actual excitement.

Not only that, I have been on lots of training courses already and I can apply what I have learnt to my last year of uni and my career. I have also made some great connections that will help with my job search (although I never want to leave DriveWorks!) and I’ve made some friends for life here too.

So how did I end up here?

I saw the DriveWorks placement advertised on the uni placements website so I applied by sending my CV and a covering letter.

My CV made the shortlist – I am so glad I went to some CV workshops at uni.

I then had a Skype interview with the marketing manager. I really liked this aspect because although I could see Maria and she could see me, not being in the same room took away some of my nerves and helped me to be myself. It also made me feel more at ease when I did actually meet Maria in person, when I came to visit DriveWorks for an interview. On the day of the interview I was here for about 3 hours, with 2 other candidates.

First of all, we were given some writing tasks, testing how well we adapt to writing to different audiences. We then got the chance to talk to some of the other employees. Then we were given a phone task and finally an event planning task.

I hate talking about myself, I’m sure a lot of people feel the same, so it was really good to get to show my skills rather than just talk about them.

I got a phone call that afternoon and was offered the placement. I was so happy, Maria and I laughed together on the phone when I accepted and I was trying so hard to hold my tears (of happiness) in! It sounds so cheesy and cliché but I just knew that I really liked DriveWorks from the moment I stepped in the door. The 250 year old barn is quite the charmer!

Like I said, that was 4 months ago and I haven’t looked back. Although some of my friends will have graduated before me, I know the time I’ve spent here will be so worth it.

What’s one year out of your whole life? Especially when you’re having as much fun as I am.

DriveWorks Ltd are currently recruiting for their 2015/16 Business & Marketing Placement.  Full details are available on our vacancy system

MMU Careers & Employability run regular CV workshops for a full list of current and upcoming events visit their events page

Leave a Reply

